Thursday, November 24, 2005

If you like books set at the time of The Scarlet Pimpernel





then try Harstairs House by Amanda Grange

It's set on the Cornish coast in 1793, and is available in regular print, large print and audio book forms. The cover shown here is from the audio book.





Susannah inherits a house on the Cornish coast, and gladly gives up a job as a governess to claim her inheritance. But when she gets there, she finds the house has a tenant.

Oliver Bristow claims to be renting Harstairs House whilst he looks for a house to purchase in the neighbourhood, but his behaviour is odd and he disappears at times, turning up again without any explanation.

When he finds that Susannah has discovered a secret passage in the library his behaviour becomes menacing, and Susannah has to solve the riddle of Harstairs House.


Amanda says:

I have always loved Cornwall, and I wanted to set a book on the Cornish coast. Harstairs House allowed me to bring together some of the elements I love best in romances: a large house, a mystery, a curious heroine and a hero with a past.

1 Comments:

Anonymous Melinda Hammond said...

I LOVE books set at this time, which is why I write them, and I have a very Pimpernel-ish mystery coming out next year - GENTLEMEN IN QUESTION. There is no publication date yet, but I will keep you posted.

11:39 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home




Follow us on Twitter @http://twitter.com/HRomanceUK




Readers outside the UK might like to know about

The Book Depository

which offers free delivery worldwide


Our books are also available from all Amazons

- see links to our websites

and our UK and US Amazon pages below -

as well as most book shops

depending on country

LOUISE ALLEN'S WEBSITE

UK       US


JO BEVERLEY'S WEBSITE

UK       US


LYNNE CONNOLLY / LYNNE MARTIN WEBSITE

UK       US


NICOLA CORNICK'S WEBSITE

UK       US


CHRISTINA COURTENAY'S WEBSITE

UK       US


AMANDA GRANGE'S WEBSITE

UK       US


ELIZABETH HAWKSLEY'S WEBSITE

UK       US


ANNE HERRIES'S WEBSITE

UK       US


JANE JACKSON'S WEBSITE

UK       US


JAN JONES'S WEBSITE

UK


MELINDA HAMMOND / SARAH MALLORY WEBSITE

UK       US


JOANNA MAITLAND'S WEBSITE

UK       US


FENELLA JANE MILLER'S WEBSITE

UK       US


JANE ODIWE'S WEBSITE

UK      US



Cover art copyright the publishers